University Professor Mark Lautens appointed as new Chair

July 10, 2023 by Mayuri Punithan - Department of Chemistry

We are delighted to announce that University Professor Mark Lautens has been appointed as the Chair and Graduate Chair of the Department of Chemistry. He will serve as Chair from July 1, 2023, to June 30, 2028.

Professor Lautens is a renowned organic chemist. His research focuses on investigating and developing novel transition-metal-catalyzed organic transformations. Namely, he has invented efficient and sustainable pharmaceuticals, which helped reduce waste significantly within the industry. He has received national attention for developing new medicinal compounds with fewer side effects. Overall, his research has helped transform and innovate the pharmaceutical industry.

In addition to his research, he has garnered an online presence for science advocacy. He has written several opinion pieces for The Star and The Globe and Mail, urging for increased federal funding to support student researchers. He is also a dedicated graduate supervisor, having mentored over 80 students. His students have become professors at numerous universities, such as Columbia University, or secured top positions in the pharmaceutical and agrochemical industries

His leadership in organic chemistry and student support has earned him the Order of Canadathe JJ Berry Smith Doctoral Supervision Award, and Royal Society of Canada’s Henry Marshall Tory Medal. Currently, he holds the AstraZeneca Endowed Professorship in Organic Chemistry.  

The Department of Chemistry looks forward to Professor Lautens’ leadership! 

We would also like to thank Professor Rob Batey, who served as the department’s Chair and Graduate Chair from July 2013. In particular, he was commended by the Faculty of Arts and Science and other university units for his leadership during the COVID-19 pandemic.