Recognizing Fall 2022 & Winter 2023 Teaching Assistant Excellence

July 7, 2023 by Chemistry at U of T

20 graduate students received the Department of Chemistry's Teaching Assistant Excellence Awards, including 16 new awardees this year.

List of recipients


Jerry Augustine

Vaibhav Bedi

Abigail Clapperton

Hunter James Clark

Aries Delica

Jillian Downey

Andrew Folkerson

Alexis Gabbey

Michelle Madin

Gavin McCurdy



Pedro Mendez Ocampo

Linkun Miao

Maryama Mohamed

Samuel Nyandwi

Samihat Rahman

Cher-Tian Ser

Marty Sirvinskas

Kenneth Tran

Edmond Wong

Anthony Yong


These awards were adjudicated by members of the departmental Undergraduate Studies Committee, and are based on the strength of written nominations submitted by both undergraduate students and course instructors (a record number of over 350 separate nominations were received). This recognition acknowledges the hard work of tutors and laboratory demonstrators across ten different undergraduate courses, from first-year to fourth-year - many congratulations to everyone who taught so well again this academic year!