Jennifer Murphy wins Ascent Award

August 1, 2019 by Dan Haves

Congratulations to Professor Jennifer Murphy who was named this week as one of the recipients of an Atmospheric Sciences Ascent Award from the American Geophysical Union (AGU). This award is given annually to exceptional, mid-career scientists in the atmospheric and climate sciences fields who demonstrate excellence in research and leadership. Murphy is the first recipient of this award from a Canadian university.

"The sciences encompassed by AGU are crucial for the health and well-being of our planet’s inhabitants," says Robin Bell, president of AGU. "These awardees have contributed to both that understanding and the planetary health and well-being through their scientific advancements and outstanding service to the science and to AGU."