Myrna Simpson is the 2023 recipient of the Geochemical Society Patterson Medal

February 14, 2023 by ssteele

The Clair C. Patterson Award is presented annually for an innovative breakthrough in environmental geochemistry of fundamental significance within the last decade, particularly in service to society. To be viewed as innovative, the work must show a high degree of creativity and/or be a fundamental departure from usual practice while contributing significantly to understanding in environmental geochemistry.  Recipients will also be included as a Fellow of the Geochemical Society.

 Myrna says “I am truly humbled to receive this prestigious recognition from the Geochemical Society and to become a Fellow of the society.  It is also exciting to be the second University of Toronto faculty member to receive this award in recent years.  Prof. Barbara Sherwood Lollar was the Patterson Award recipient in 2019.  It is wonderful to see that the research and impacts of environmental geochemists at the University of Toronto being recognized internationally.  I am extremely thankful to those who nominated me and supported the nomination. ”